top of page
Search
  • Aaliya

A letter to you by a Bibliophile.


// Credit : Colette //



Dear Reader,

l

Since the streets of my glorious yet engrossed with dark history town are now painted red with the joys of lovers and is decorated with heart shaped balloons and topped off with the chuckles of ' I love you' ' or 'Will you be my valentine?'.

you just cannot ponder but wonder that what really is so special about this one day that keeps our heart so thrilled if we are someone's valentine and so gloomy if we are not someone's valentine. As a reader, I have had my kingdom set with fantasies (oh those lovely fantasies, if only I had a person to share it with), my expectations are perfectly sky-high, and I am not willing to keep a foot on the ground. This really makes me say to oneself that should valentines really be a date in a restaurant where the glasses are sparkling with some matured vintage red wine and a lover in front of me where we keep on complimenting each other till our cheeks are tired of blushing and our jaws are begging us to stop smiling? or is it simply a day spent on the couch where we just movies but still are cheeks are tired and jaws are begging? and if my fantasy world is broken then my friends comes as knight in shining armour and introduce me to the concept of Galantines Day. The star question is that when did being single or alone on valentine’s day became a blasphemy and is Valentine's Day just reserved for star crossed lovers or the souls that are yet to be ignited? and to copy paste the words of the protagonist Kate Hamilton from "The Trouble With Valentine’s Day" written by Rachel Gibson

It's the one day each year when being single is a sin . . The Trouble With Valentine's Day? It just plain stinks!

Do we all feel the same deep down the road? Oh! my darling Kate. I do know a lot of souls today connect with you. Maybe frustration plays as the queen on the chess today. I read this unknown masterpiece when I was 18 and back then it felt like a heroic tale of a heartbroken women lost in the thoughts clinging around the 'love' given by someone or something. Someone as in her jerk boyfriend who dumped her and something as in her job that was a contributing factor to her frustration. Her fragile yet strong heart had enough, and she decided to fight back for something she lost, her beautiful self-esteem in the valleys of Idaho. Now this sounds like the perfect self-love novel. The reason I read it was the guilt she had after providing the information to her client about missing wife and children and how her client killed his entire family and took his own life. So is Valentine's Day really a fruit of the Eden that you are curious to taste or the devil's cup you are willing to give in the temptation for. My take is that it is none of them. I believe that Kate did not think of the temptation or the curiosity but was somewhat like Ezekiel who does not take pleasure in the death of the wicked and believes that people will be given new heart and a new spirit and a shower of blessings (I love the bible sometimes) and I want you to do the same. This valentine's day, I want you to think of yourself as someone who has loved you for centuries. I need you to open that food app and reserve a table for dine out with yourself or order the exact fancy food for a stay in! I want you to embrace that favorite hobby again and I want you to be in your worn out t-shirt or in your best desirable outfit and make a vow that from today onwards you will think of yourself as the kind hearted and passionate ruler of your Kingdom and will always try to be engaged in the progress of being there for yourself and I hope all the questions were answered because after all it looks like my fantasies will never die but so won't the love for myself.


(Secretly hoping that hopefully next year, I have a man to celebrate the Valentine's Day with)


Yours lovingly,

Aaliya.

__________________________________________________________________________________


Hi, guys I am really glad that you have witnessed my second blog now and will stay tuned for more. So far I have really enjoyed pouring my feelings out in the forms of letter and then giving you all a book to read and search about. Anyways be safe and be happy. < 3

Dm's are always open @Wordsbyaaliya on Instagram.


Recent Posts

See All

© 2023 by The Book Lover. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page