top of page
Search
  • Aaliya

abcdefgh-i don't know my relationship with compliments.



// Credit : The Day Of The Doctor //


Dear Reader,


Now that valentine's day is over, I hope you took my advice from my last letter to you and had a great valentine's day. I want to keep this short, but my heart tells me that this is a very sensitive topic and hence, I once again will pour my heart out. So, let us cut to the chase this time. Compliments. What are compliments? Are you really worthy of them? Are your second thoughts getting the best of you? Are they saying it out of pity? blah blah! gosh, I personally cannot imagine the number of times, I have said 'Thank You<3' to a person complimenting me and believing that they just did it out of courtesy and how I wish, I was just as phenomenal in receiving it like I was in complimenting someone. The affair I posses with my baby compliments is rather..complicated!. We love each other, we have everything except trust of words. I am just like every other person with insecurities and trying hard to overcome them, but it is a progress, right? I Like a good journey anyways. I must tell you that I think I am beautiful, I really do ( this is just a rare thing but I am in a voyage of accepting myself and it is a great trip). I like how my eyes are or even how my smile is but when someone compliments me, I find it extremely difficult to accept. Suddenly, it feels like that NASA has told me to develop a spacecraft and I do not know astronautical engineering (which I really do not know, god bless these science kids). So, the only thing I keep on plucking the petals is for what the hell is our relationship with compliments? Even I do not know the answer. Maybe somewhere in the future, I would be able to answer. (I really hope so). and what can we do to let this hesitation die? I say keep the hesitation but do not let it overpower your ability to accept the compliments.

Accepting what others see as your strengths is crucial to your continued growth. Compliments are a gift. They are an opportunity for you and another person to connect in a powerful way, positive way. How did you handle the last compliment directed at you? Did you accept it? -Rhonda Britten.

My curiosity speaks the same, did you accept the last compliment directed at you? or did you " NO, YOU" it? The process is not simple and the elephant in the room is that no matter how many compliments they throw at your side, they will never make sense unless you yourself believes that you are capable of catching them and even though receiving compliments is a part of our life and I appreciate the people who take the time to compliment me but it is a process and it is a constant one and it is not in our hands to change someone's emotions towards compliments, we as human beings should keep on trying to be a help to them by making sure that they know our compliments for them are genuine and hope that they will learn to love themselves and learn how to take compliments because they deserve it. You deserve it. We deserve it. I deserve it.


Yours lovingly,

Aaliya.


// Credit : Grease 2 //

P.S I am a huge fan of Grease.

_________________________________________________________________________________


Hi,guys!! I hope we all develop a fruitful relationship with Compliments. Hope you are having a good day. I don't have much energy today to make a good author's note and this was supposed to go out yesterday. But let's hope for the best okay and wishing you all a good weekend.

Dm's are always open @wordsbyaaliya on Instagram.

137 views

Recent Posts

See All

© 2023 by The Book Lover. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page